Giving To The Needy

Today I was about to pull out of the shopping center, when I was stopped by the stop light. I looked over to a small rise next to the light, and I saw a homeless man with a sign. I knew that I had a five dollar bill in my wallet, so I motioned the man to come over to my car as I dug for my wallet. I gave the man the five dollars, and he thanked me. He turned to go back to his seat beside the stop light, but stopped. He turned back to me and said, “I’m sorry that I have to beg. I can’t help it.” Tears were in his eyes and tears welled up in my eyes as I said, “That’s okay. It could happen to any of us.” He thanked me again, and turned back to his seat. The light turned green, and I drove away with tears rolling down my cheeks.

I thought about it, and remembered Jesus’ words, “Inasmuch as you do it unto the least of these my brethren, you do it unto me.” Taking that into account, I guess I could say that, today I gave Jesus five dollars so that he wouldn’t be hungry. But, of the three of us there, the man by the road, Jesus and me, I benefited the most. Because in giving to another, for that moment, I entered into love. I entered into God’s kingdom. Yes, not only could it happen to any of us, it is any of us.

Book: God, reward and punishment: Are they real? amazon.com book and Kindle

This entry was posted in Democracy, God is Real, The Trinity, The sacrifice, The resurrection, Jesus is the son of God, Jesus Christ, physical, soul, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

