Second Nature

When I studied Hapkido I thought that repeating the same moves over and over again was boring and probably useless. I believed that if I was physically confronted, that I would be so nervous that I wouldn’t remember any karate moves. Then one day I was riding an elevator. I was by myself, and I didn’t know that on the floor where I was to get out, someone was standing to the side and out of sight when the door opened. As I walked out of the elevator, he stepped forward. I automatically hit the stance used for defense or offense. The man said, “Whoa, I didn’t know Chuck Norris was getting off here.” We both laughed, and I walked away, amazed at how those repetitions had become so second-nature to me.

It’s the same with whatever we do. What we do repetitiously becomes our second nature. For that reason we need to avoid those things that undermine our welfare, and practice those things that will benefit us.

We all need to set aside a time every day when we can study God‘s word, meditate, and pray to Him. We need to practice telling Him of our fears, and thanking Him for our joys. We should do this daily and faithfully, so that when we are threatened or a problem arises that we may not be able to handle, we won’t panic and react in fear. We will be drawn to go to our problem solver, our protector, and our defender. We will go to God, explain our situation, and wait for Him to guide us. We are not alone, and we don’t have to face the world alone. We have the greatest power in the universe waiting to come to our aid. All we have to do is ask. It makes sense that we should make sure that it’s second nature to us.

book: amazon.com/God,reward,andpunishment

This entry was posted in Democracy, God is Real, The Trinity, The sacrifice, The resurrection, Jesus is the son of God, Jesus Christ, physical, soul, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

