Come Unto Me

I recently heard a story about a missionary in India. He was at the River Ganges where the ritual of cleansing was going on. During this time 3 1/2 million people come to wash themselves in the polluted river for the forgiveness of sins. As the missionary watched, he noticed a young woman sitting on the bank of the river sobbing her heart out. He went to the woman and asked her what was the matter. She replied that her husband was dying, and they couldn’t afford medical treatment. She said that their family was destitute and this was her last hope and she had nothing else to offer. She had decided to offer her child as a sacrifice to cleanse her family of sin, so that her husband’s health would be restored and he would be able to go back to work. She said that she had just drowned her eighteen month old daughter.

The missionary tried to comfort the woman, and began explaining that she didn’t have to sacrifice to God. God had sacrificed His son so that our sins would be forgiven. All we have to do is accept him in our hearts. The woman looked at him and said, “Why didn’t you tell me this a half hour ago?” and began crying even harder.

This then is why I write. I don’t want to be a half hour late. I don’t want to be a minute late. I want everyone to know of the saving grace of our Father.

Jesus said, “I am the way, the truth and the life. No man comes to the Father, except by me.” He, also, said, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11 28-30
Come unto me. Come.
book: amazon.com/God, reward, and punishment

This entry was posted in Democracy, God is Real, The Trinity, The sacrifice, The resurrection, Jesus is the son of God, Jesus Christ, physical, soul, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

