No Pearl Without Pain

John 16:33 “I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.”

When I began trying to serve God through my writing, the world did come against me. In 2000 when the stock market bubble burst, I lost a great deal of money. Five years ago my son died at age 42. A year later my daughter died at age 49. Those blows were hard to take, but, not only had God given me the Holy Spirit as comforter, but he had led me to adopt a little Westie. She was my constant companion and earthly comforter. Whenever I was down, she could cheer me up. Whenever I became melancholy, she was by my side. Then three weeks ago we had to put her to sleep, because of numerous physical problems that were killing her. Another blow, and no one to cheer me up, and no one to pet.

Two days ago, I woke up and I wanted to die. I was tired of trying my best and being beaten down. I didn’t want to go on any more. Later on that day, I was driving and had a religious radio station playing. Whoever was speaking started telling about oysters and pearls. He said that when a grain of sand enters the oyster’s shell, it irritates the oyster, and the oyster begins secreting a substance that surrounds the grain of sand, in an attempt to cover the sharp edges. This causes the grain of sand to continue to grow and irritate the oyster. After a while a pearl is formed from the grain of sand, and as the oyster continues to live, the pearl continues to grow until it becomes quite valuable.

Matthew 13:46 “When he found one of great value, he went away and sold everything he had and bought it.”

Jesus tells a story about a man who found a pearl of great value, and sold all that he had and bought the pearl. The pearl symbolized “salvation”. I don’t like to compare myself to an oyster, but if God wants me to be an oyster, then that’s what I’ll be, hidden at the bottom of the sea and hoping that someone will find a pearl in what I write.
My prayer is that at least one person will find the pearl and will realize its value and will treasure it into eternal life.

My latest book: God, Reward, and Punishment
By Andy Mealer
available on Amazon.com book or Kindle
I hope you’ll find something of great value there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

