I Thought I Was A Somebody

Oh, I used to think that I was somebody. IQ tests showed me to be highly intelligent, and maybe even gifted. I was reasonably good-looking, good body, good health. I thought that my thoughts were right-on, and my abilities unlimited. Then reality set in. I found that, although my thoughts were well-founded according to man’s wisdom and understanding, they didn’t consider how victory in the long term, could be affected by failures or defeat in the short term. It was impossible to see the future that only God can encompass. I had to get my abilities and intellect out of the way in order to complete His perfect plan. My short-term plans, formed by man’s limited intellect and ability, was interfering with God’s long term, and perfect plan. I learned that I had to subdue my egotistical plans, formed by an inferior mind and ability, and allow God to lead the way. Jesus said, “I am the way, the truth and the life. No man comes unto the Father except by me.” He, also, said, “If any man comes to me, he must take up his cross daily, and follow me. He didn’t ask us to lead, or to supplant his authority with our own ideas. He said that we must follow him.

When I finally looked at Jesus and not just at our religion, I realized that he is so much greater than I could ever hope to be.  It was then that I realized that I could not out-perform or out-think the Son of God.  I realized that compared to Him, I was nothing.  Only by asking Him to live in me and use me for his purpose, could I ever become a somebody.  That’s when I became a child of God.  Now I have purpose of use. Now I have meaning.
The Bible tells us to “Humble yourselves under the might hand of God, that He may in due time, exalt you.” Jesus said, “Whoever would be first, will be last. And whoever would be last, will be made first.” The Apostle Paul said that we should “relate to fellow believers with love and humility.” Wherever we look in the Bible we find that those who thought of themselves to be “somebodys”, were proven to be “nobodys”. Jesus did not come to Earth to prove his superiority over man. He came to serve man, and he reiterated that over and over. His last voluntary act with his disciples, was to wash their feet, which was always done by the servant, if it was done for the person at all. He portrayed himself throughout his ministry as a humble servant. When Jesus was finished washing the disciples feet, he said, “Do ye this to one another.”
We can do nothing in arrogance. No one will listen to us, or be led to Christ when we approach them in arrogance. Arrogance or an air of superiority simply angers and puts the other person on their defense. The Apostle Paul wrote, “I can do all things through him who strengthens me.” Yes, we can do all things through him whom we follow, through him whom we humbly worship.
Present yourself as a “nobody”to God, so that you will become His child, and a “somebody”.

“If my people, who are called by my name, will HUMBLE themselves, pray, seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sins, and heal their nation.”

Forget your talents, abilities and intellect. Humble yourself – to God and to others – and become a somebody. Humbly follow Him and find the total victory. for which you have for so long, strived. Thrive in humility, or wither in arrogance. It is the choice that each of us must make. I have chosen to accept being a nobody, in order to become His somebody, and to live in victory..

book:  amazon.com/supernaturalpowerthroughonelaw

This entry was posted in God is Real, The Trinity, The sacrifice, The resurrection, Jesus is the son of God, Jesus Christ, physical, soul, spirit, spiritual, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

