Two Facts That Prove The Resurrection

Most people who honestly seek to understand their reason for being here, and who diligently seek to prove or disprove the existence of God, have found at least two things that prove the resurrection of Jesus.

The first proof they see is in the lives of the apostles. When Jesus was crucified, only one (the youngest) stayed close to Jesus until he was placed in the tomb. The other apostles were scared to death, and fled hoping to take up their former lives and melt back into obscurity and safety from those who had killed Christ. Then the resurrected Jesus appeared to them and they were transformed into fiery evangelists of God. They returned to Jerusalem, the stronghold of their enemies, and boldly preached the gospel of Jesus. They no longer feared for their lives, and all but one were eventually murdered for their loyalty to the risen savior. They could not be moved from their conviction to serve their risen savior. Just like Job, they knew that their Redeemer lives.

The second proof we need to understand has to do with the Harvest Principle or Golden Rule. The night that Jesus was brought before the Sanhedrin for trial, Peter denied knowing Jesus three times, just as Jesus predicted. Jesus had already taught, “If you deny me before men, I will deny you before my Father. If you confess me before men, I will confess you before my Father.” Because Peter had denied knowing Jesus three times, he stood condemned.

The disciples didn’t seem to understand much about the Harvest Principle, and never explained it in their writings. But Jesus understood, and one of the first things he did after his resurrection was to confront Peter and ask him three times if he loved him. Peter answered him and confessed three times that he loved Jesus. Three times denying Christ minus three times confessing his love for Jesus equals a clean slate. Peter was no longer condemned. Only Jesus would have known to ask Peter this question, and only a risen Jesus would have been there to ask it. “Simon, Bar Jonah, do you love me more than these (the other disciples)?” “Peter, do you love me?” And again, “Peter, do you love me?”

How many times have you denied knowing Jesus? How many times must you confess your love for him? He loved us enough to give up his life for us. He deserves our eternal and unconditional love and trust.

Yes, Jesus I love you. I love you. You know that I love you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two Facts That Prove The Resurrection

  1. Pingback: There is nothing to it | daily meditation

  2. Pingback: The mighty One, God, the LORD | daily meditation

  3. hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve definitely picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise some technical issues using this web site,
    as I experienced to reload the website a lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly.
    I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK?
    Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances
    times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your high-quality score
    if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this
    RSS to my email and can look out for a lot more of
    your respective interesting content. Ensure that you update this again very
    soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

