A Wisp Of Smoke, A Vapor

James 4:13-15 “13 Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will[a] go to such and such a city, spend a year there, buy and sell, and make a profit”; 14 whereas you do not know what will happen tomorrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away. 15 Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we shall live and do this or that.”

Tonight I looked up into the dark sky, and watched as vaporous clouds drifted over a full moon. The clouds were visible, but so thin that they barely dimmed the moon as they passed over it. I wondered if that was how our I lives are – visible but too vaporous to affect anything around us. I thought of my parents who have died. I thought about my son and daughter, and I thought of other friends and family that had gone. And I thought of my dogs Dolly and Calley who meant the world to me. They had all been so real and vibrant to me, yet one day they were gone, like a vapor that vanishes away without a trace. The pain of losing them came back to haunt me again tonight, and tear at my heart one more time, and I wondered if the pain would ever end.
Vapor? Are we no more than a vapor traversing an endless sky? No. It is our bodies that are vaporous and disappears – dust to dust and ashes to ashes. But our soul shines forth from us as we seek to serve our God by serving our fellow man. The vapor is our bodies, and our souls are like the moon, that reflects the light of God. Yes, our bodies pass in front of us and then are gone, like thin clouds passing across the moon. But we will shine on, forever reflecting the love of God to all the world through His Son Jesus Christ. Let your light shine. Let the world see the real you as your God created you to be.
Blessings,
Andy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Wisp Of Smoke, A Vapor

  1. “But we will shine on, forever reflecting the love of God to all the world through His Son Jesus Christ. Let the world see the real you as your God created you to be.”
    I’m trying. The more I try, the more I love what He created me to be. Next time you turn around, I just may be the one checking off the names in the book of life as they enter their final destination door. 🙂 Oh, how joyful it is to be one of His followers!

    Like

  2. As for the haunting comment…
    Psalm 29:11
    The LORD gives strength to his people; the LORD blesses his people with peace.
    1 Peter 5:10
    And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast.

    No child can ever be replaced. Just hang in through the hauntings, the moments will come and go. On the left hand, you and your wife can adopt me as a daughter until Jesus comes to get us. 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

